Yin Yoga


This class is taught by:

Denise Vaughn

Denise considers herself a forever student of life. Her initial love of yoga came through a rigorous Bikram Yoga practice. As Denise's interest in yoga grew, she began studying yoga philosophy and anatomy with a focus on asana and pranayama. Denise's studies have led to a deep understanding and appreciation for: hatha, vinyasa, ashtanga and yin yoga.
Denise earned her Yoga Alliance Certification through Yoga Hanalei in Kuai with Bhavani Maki as her teacher and taught level I-II vinyasa yoga for five years in Half Moon Bay, California. She has practiced at The Yoga Haven on her visits to Galveston over the past ten years and is overjoyed be a part of the Galveston yoga community.

Kathleen DiNatale

Guiding students with clear and articulate instructions, anatomical insights and skillful sequencing, Kathleen shares the benefits of her long-time yoga practice with humor and grace. Her classes blend poetry and wisdom teachings with her understanding of the power of yoga asana to transform. She has taught yoga in Galveston since 1998, moving to the island from Santa Fe, NM to teach at  Island Yoga. Kathleen opened The Yoga Haven in 2005. She is experienced in several styles of yoga  with practice & study in Iyengar, Ashtanga, Anusara, PreNatal Yoga and Yin Yoga. She holds teaching certifications from The Yoga Institute, Prajna Yoga and Insight Yoga. Kathleen continues to study with Tias & Surya Little of Prajna Yoga and Sarah Powers of Insight Yoga. She practices and teaches mindfulness based meditation in the Vipassana tradition. Since 2011, Kathleen has also operated the Oasis Juice Bar & Market with partners Dennis McFadden and Steve Hermecke, bringing healthy & conscious food options to downtown Galveston. 
A compliment to dynamic yoga practices, an antidote to a fast-paced lifestyle, a meditative and reflective practice, offering deep stretch & release. Primarily floor work, Yin Yoga targets the connective tissues. Postures are held, muscles are invited to yield and space is opened in the joints, allowing energy to flow. Focused and reflective, this practice encourages a healthy, supple body and a cool, peaceful mind. * prenatal friendly

Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Dec 14 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Dec 18 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Fri Dec 21 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Fri Dec 28 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Fri Jan 04 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Tue Jan 08 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Fri Jan 11 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Tue Jan 15 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Fri Jan 18 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Tue Jan 22 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Fri Jan 25 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Tue Jan 29 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Fri Feb 01 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Tue Feb 05 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Fri Feb 08 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Tue Feb 12 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Fri Feb 15 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Tue Feb 19 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Kathleen DiNatale