Yoga for Bone Health


This class is taught by:

Wendy Russo

In 2009, Wendy was introduced to Yoga as a way of alleviating stress and shoulder pain that physical therapy could not address. For Wendy, the transformative effects of yoga have been both physical and profound.

After retiring from work as a Laboratory Manager in a busy oncology clinic, Wendy decided to pursue her passion for yoga by completing a 200Hr Yoga Teacher Training course. She became Nationally Certified through the Yoga Institute in January 2018.

Wendy has been a dedicated member of The Yoga Haven community for several years and we welcome her to our teaching staff as she enters this new phase of her life.

"The poses create tension and learning to soften and find stillness even in this self-imposed discomfort. Yoga has taught me how to maintain a sense of calm in everyday life."
– Wendy

This mixed-level class trains students in a series of yoga postures that serve to increase bone density in the spine, legs and hips. The series was developed by Dr. Loren M. Fishman at Columbia University as a pilot study and the results pointed to improved posture, balance, decrease in falls and fractures. The series when practiced correctly can be done in 12-minutes and can become the basis of a daily practice for bone health. Students will receive training in the series and an outline of the postures and their benefits for reference. Suitable for beginners. Drop-ins welcome.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Jul 17 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Jul 19 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Jul 24 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Jul 26 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Jul 31 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Aug 02 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Aug 07 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Aug 09 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Aug 14 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Aug 16 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Aug 21 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Aug 23 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Aug 28 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Aug 30 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Sep 04 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Sep 06 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Sep 11 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Sep 13 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Sep 18 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Sep 20 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo