Yoga for Bone Health


This class is taught by:

Wendy Russo

In 2009, Wendy was introduced to Yoga as a way of alleviating stress and shoulder pain that physical therapy could not address. For Wendy, the transformative effects of yoga have been both physical and profound.
After retiring from work as a Laboratory Manager in a busy oncology clinic, Wendy decided to pursue her passion for yoga by completing a 200Hr Yoga Teacher Training course. She became Nationally Certified through the Yoga Institute in January 2018.
Wendy has been a dedicated member of The Yoga Haven community for several years and we welcome her to our teaching staff as she enters this new phase of her life.
"The poses create tension and learning to soften and find stillness even in this self-imposed discomfort. Yoga has taught me how to maintain a sense of calm in everyday life." – Wendy
This mixed-level class trains students in a series of yoga postures that serve to increase bone density in the spine, legs and hips. The series was developed by Dr. Loren M. Fishman at Columbia University as a pilot study and the results pointed to improved posture, balance, decrease in falls and fractures. The series when practiced correctly can be done in 12-minutes and can become the basis of a daily practice for bone health. Students will receive training in the series and an outline of the postures and their benefits for reference. Suitable for beginners. Drop-ins welcome.

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Dec 13 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Dec 18 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Dec 20 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Dec 27 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Jan 03 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Jan 08 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Jan 10 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Jan 15 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Jan 17 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Jan 22 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Jan 24 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Jan 29 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Jan 31 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Feb 05 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Feb 07 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Feb 12 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Feb 14 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Tue Feb 19 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo
  • Thu Feb 21 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Wendy Russo