Gentle Yoga


This class is taught by:

Denise Vaughn

Denise considers herself to forever be a student. She earned her Yoga Alliance Certification through Yoga Hanalei in Kuai with Bhavani Maki as her teacher. Yoga has taken Denise deep into the study of asana, pranayama, yoga philosophy and anatomy. Her initial love of yoga came through a rigorous Bikram Yoga practice and has evolved into an appreciation for hatha yoga, vinyasa, ashtanga and yin yoga. For the past five years she has taught level I-II vinyasa in Half Moon Bay, California. Denise has practiced at The Yoga Haven over the past ten years during visits to Galveston and and is happy to now be a part of the Galveston yoga community.

Kathleen DiNatale

Guiding students with clear and articulate instructions, anatomical insights and skillful sequencing, Kathleen shares the benefits of her long-time yoga practice with humor and grace. Her classes blend poetry and wisdom teachings with her understanding of the power of yoga asana to transform. She has taught yoga in Galveston since 1998, moving to the island from Santa Fe, NM to teach at  Island Yoga. Kathleen opened The Yoga Haven in 2005. She is experienced in several styles of yoga  with practice & study in Iyengar, Ashtanga, Anusara, PreNatal Yoga and Yin Yoga. She holds teaching certifications from The Yoga Institute, Prajna Yoga and Insight Yoga. Kathleen continues to study with Tias & Surya Little of Prajna Yoga and Sarah Powers of Insight Yoga. She practices and teaches mindfulness based meditation in the Vipassana tradition. Since 2011, Kathleen has also operated the Oasis Juice Bar & Market with partners Dennis McFadden and Steve Hermecke, bringing healthy & conscious food options to downtown Galveston. 
A practice designed for beginners, older students or those wanting a slower pace. Class includes both dynamic and static postures sequenced to develop strength, balance and flexibility. Meditation and breathing techniques are introduced to support the release of physical and mental tension. This class is suitable for prenatal practice.

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon Aug 21 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Wed Aug 23 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Mon Aug 28 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Wed Aug 30 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Mon Sep 04 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Wed Sep 06 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Mon Sep 11 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Wed Sep 13 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Mon Sep 18 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Wed Sep 20 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Mon Sep 25 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Wed Sep 27 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Mon Oct 02 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Wed Oct 04 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Mon Oct 09 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Wed Oct 11 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Mon Oct 16 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Wed Oct 18 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Mon Oct 23 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale
  • Wed Oct 25 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Kathleen DiNatale