Yoga for Bone Health


This class is taught by:

Denise Vaughn

Denise considers herself to forever be a student. She earned her Yoga Alliance Certification through Yoga Hanalei in Kuai with Bhavani Maki as her teacher. Yoga has taken Denise deep into the study of asana, pranayama, yoga philosophy and anatomy. Her initial love of yoga came through a rigorous Bikram Yoga practice and has evolved into an appreciation for hatha yoga, vinyasa, ashtanga and yin yoga. For the past five years she has taught level I-II vinyasa in Half Moon Bay, California. Denise has practiced at The Yoga Haven over the past ten years during visits to Galveston and and is happy to now be a part of the Galveston yoga community.
This mixed-level class trains students in a series of yoga postures that serve to increase bone density in the spine, legs and hips. The series was developed by Dr. Loren M. Fishman at Columbia University as a pilot study and the results pointed to improved posture, balance, decrease in falls and fractures. The series when practiced correctly can be done in 12-minutes and can become the basis of a daily practice for bone health. Students will receive training in the series and an outline of the postures and their benefits for reference. Suitable for beginners. Drop-ins welcome.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Aug 22 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Aug 24 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Aug 29 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Aug 31 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Sep 05 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Sep 07 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Sep 12 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Sep 14 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Sep 19 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Sep 21 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Sep 26 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Sep 28 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Oct 03 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Oct 05 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Oct 10 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Oct 12 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Oct 17 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Oct 19 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Tue Oct 24 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn
  • Thu Oct 26 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Denise Vaughn